*: *

EATx post 2015

EATx post 2015

EATx Post 2015 took place on Friday, September 25th, 1:00 PM to 2:30 PM in Conference Room 2, United Nations Conference Building, NYC.

EATx post 2015

A high-level event on sustainable nutrition security on September 25th, 2015, coinciding with the UN Summit to Adopt the Post-2015 Development Agenda 

The EAT Initiative, in collaboration with the Norwegian Ministry of Foreign Affairs, CGIAR Consortium and the World Health Organization, hosted a high-level event, Achieving Sustainable Nutrition Security for All, to coincide with the UN Summit to Adopt the Post-2015 Development Agenda and the 70th UN General Assembly.

The objective of the event was to provide food for thought on how to develop new norms for collaboration and action to achieve sustainable nutrition security for all. Tackling emerging food-related challenges, including the double burden of malnutrition, climate change and ecosystem degradation, and ensuring universal access to affordable, nutritious food to a growing world population, is one of the biggest barriers to achieving the ambitious Sustainable Development and Post-2015 Development Agenda. This effort will require action of many kinds across scientific disciplines and sectors of society.

The program was a mix of keynotes, panel discussions and interactive dialogue with the audience.

This event was co-sponsored with:
Sustainable Development Solutions Network (SDSN)
Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Malawi
Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Sweden
United Nations World Food Programme
Ministry of External Relations, Brazil
Ministry of Health, Indonesia

Confirmed speakers included below:

The speakers and panelists

H.E. Børge Brende

Minister of Foreign Affairs, Norway

H.E. Peter Kumpalume

Minister of Health, Malawi

H.E. Margot Wallström

Minister of Foreign Affairs, Sweden

H.E. Prof. Nila Moeloek

Minister of Health, Indonesia

Ertharin Cousin

Executive Director of the United Nations World Food Programme

Dr. Gunhild A Stordalen

Director, EAT Initiative

Dr. Carissa Etienne

Director of the Pan American Health Organization/WHO

Professor Jeffrey Sachs

Executive Director, Earth Institute

Dr. Frank Rijsberman

Chief Executive Officer, CGIAR

Dr. Richard Horton

Editor in Chief, The Lancet

Peter Freedman

Managing Director, The Consumer Goods Forum

Prof. Johan Rockström

Executive Director, Stockholm Resilience Center

Dominic Waughray

Head of Public-Private Partnership, World Economic Forum

Niall Dunne

Chief Sustainability Officer, BT Group