About Stockholm Food Forum 2014

Stockholm Food Forum 2014

In May 2014 the first annual EAT Stockholm Food Forum welcomed participants from all over the world to help set goals and guidelines for the future. In an informal atmosphere, reflected by the warmth and generosity of its host city, the forum offered lectures and panel discussions featuring global leaders in the fields of science, politics and business. But more than that, it also offered a truly unique arena for interdisciplinary dialogue.

A central element of the EAT Initiative is the annual EAT Stockholm Food Forum, where a high-level community of some 500 experts and stakeholders from science, business, policy, and civil society gather for interactive discussions and advancing solutions for healthier and more sustainable food systems. Taking place in Stockholm, Sweden, in early summer every year, the annual EAT Stockholm Food Forum provides an informal platform of mutual trust and inspiration among the delegates for better defining the challenges, outlining solutions and future actions, show-casing concrete results and progress, and exchanging experience and ideas.

The speakers and panelists

Dr. Gunhild A. Stordalen

Founder and president, EAT Foundation

Professor Johan Rockström

Executive Director, Stockholm Resilience Centre

Michiel Bakker

Director, Global Food Services at Google

Jonas Gahr Støre

Leader of Labour Party, Norwegian Member of Parliament

Christine M Kaseba

Consultant Obstetrician and Gynecologist, Former First Lady of Zambia

H.R.H. Prince of Wales
Professor Walter Willett

Chairman of the Department of Nutrition at Harvard School of Public Health

Bente Mikkelsen

Director, Department of Non-Communicable Diseases, World Health Organization

Sven Mollekleiv

Senior Vice President, DNV GL Group

Alf-Helge Aarskog

Co-Chair, Global Salmon Initiative

Christina Greko

Ass. Professor, National Veterinary Institute, Sweden

Tristram Stuart

BBC Food & Farming Awards Finalist 2014 and Sophie Prize winner 2011

Kristian Nergaard

Chairman, BAMA Group

Cathrine Dehli

CSR manager, Nordic Choice Hotels

Feike Sijbesma

CEO Royal DSM, Netherlands & Co-Chair SUN Business Network Advisory Group

Henning Beltestad

Lerøy Seafood Group

Anna Bexell

Senior Commodities Advisor, UNDPs Green Commodities Programme

Richard Bergfors

CEO and owner, Max Burgers

Dr. Shashi Tharoor

Indian Minister of State for Human Resource Development

Proffessor Christopher J.L. Murray

Institute Director, Institute for Health Metrics and Evaluation, University of Washington

Prof. Hans Rosling

Karolinska Institutet

Natasha Ardiani

Ass. Director, President´s Delivery Unit for Development Monitoring and Oversight, Republic of Indonesia

Dr. Alessandro R Demaio

Postdoctoral Fellow at Harvard Global Equity Initiative, Harvard Medical School

Dr. Usman Mushtaq

Medical Doctor

José A. Zaglul

President, EARTH University, Costa Rica

Jo Jewell

WHO Europe

Natalia Brzezinski

Blogger on behalf of the US Embassy in Sweden

Professor Brian Wansink

Founder and Director, Cornell University Food and Brand Lab

Professor Anthony Costello

Director of the Department of Maternal, Child and Adolescent Health, WHO

Kathryn Murdoch

Visiting fellow at the University of Oxford and trustee of the Environmental Defense Fund

Dr Bernard Vallat

Director General of the World Organisation for Animal Health (OIE)

Dyborn Charlie Chibonga

Chief Executive Officer, National Smallholder Farmers' Association of Malawi (NASFAM), Malawi

Valerie Hickey

Biodiversity Specialist, Agriculture and Environment Services, Sustainable Development Network, The World Bank

Olivier De Schutter

UN Special Rapporteur on the Right to Food and Co-Chair of The High-Level Panel

Dr. Emile Frison

Chair of the International Scientific Committee of the Daniel and Nina Carasso Foundation

Marie-Stéphane Maradeix

Executive Director, Carasso Foundation

Greg Drescher

VP Strategic Initiatives and Industry Leadership, The Culinary Institute of America (CIA)

Margaret Chan
Dr. Sania Nishtar

President & Founder, Heartfile

Sunita Narain

Director for Science and Environment, India

Helena Helmersson
Vandana Shiva

Environmental Activist

Prof. Carlos A. Monteiro

Department of Nutrition, School of Public Health, University of Sao Paulo

Professor Jeffrey Sachs

Director of The Earth Institute Columbia University

Olav Kjørven

Special Advisor to the UNDP Administrator on the Post2015 Development Agenda

Frank Rijsberman

Chief Executive Officer, CGIAR

Nick Nuttall

Head of Communications, UNFCCC

Richie Ahuja

Regional Director Asia, Environmental Defense Fund

Kaitlin Yarnall

Deputy Creative Director, National Geographic Magazine

Ron Finley