June 1st - June 2nd 2015

Read more


We have the knowledge, now we need to act

In September 2011, world leaders adopted an ambitious commitment to control Non Communicable Diseases such as Cardiovascular diseases, Cancer , Diabetes and Respiratory diseases. This was a crucial commitment, said Bente Mikkelsen in her speech at the EAT Stockholm Food Forum “We have all the knowledge we need and we have a commitment from several…

Read more

The Vision of EAT

The vision of EAT is a transformation of the global food system to sustainably feed a healthy population of nine billion people by mid-Century.

Fulfilling this vision will require major multidisciplinary, multi-stakeholder and multi-scale cooperation, as the health and environmental problems associated with food systems are highly interconnected and span across all sectors of society. In order to fulfil the urgent need for an integrated agenda spanning food, health and sustainability, the EAT Initiative was established in 2013 as an international platform for interaction between stakeholders across science, policy, civil society and business. Bringing leadership from formerly siloed sectors and academic fields, EAT is guided by the core working hypothesis that productive food systems, global health, and a sustainable environment are all prerequisites for human development. The Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO) defines a sustainable diet as one that has low environmental impact, contributes to food security and to a healthy life for present and future generations. They highlight the need for diets and food systems that are protective and respectful of biodiversity and ecosystems, culturally acceptable, accessible, economically fair and affordable, nutritionally adequate, safe and healthy, and optimize natural and human resources. Hence, a holistic perspective on health and environmental aspects of food systems is needed in order to identify synergistic solutions and innovations that promote diets, which enhance both human and planetary health, as well as to highlight potential trade-offs. This requires more interdisciplinary knowledge on the interconnections between food and agriculture, health and nutrition, environmental sustainability, and socio-economic factors. Read more


The Guardian blog: we become what we eat, and so does Earth

Blog post about EAT Stockholm Food Forum posted in The Guardian Sustainable Business section. The blog, which is written by Johan Rockström, Chair of the EAT Advisory Board, argues that "The…

Read more

EAT and the Daniel and Nina Carasso Foundation join forces to promote sustainable food systems and diets

The EAT initiative is proud to announce its collaboration with the  International Panel of Experts on Sustainable Food System (IPES-food) initiated by the Daniel and Nina Carasso Foundation With…

Read more

The awards

Best of the best

Our annual awards are presented at the Stockholm Food Forum.

Get to know the awards and see past winners.

local EAT Award

Innovation often starts small and local. The Local EAT Awards 2015 will be arranged only in Norway and Sweden and the goal is to find and reward local food and sustainability related products, services or other initiatives that creates value for both individuals and businesses. The local EAT Award is a joint initiative with our partner the Nordic Choice Hotel Group.

Read more

EAT Global culinary Award

In collaboration with The World Association of Chef’s Societies (Worldchefs) EAT is proud to present the Global Culinary Award. This award will recognize innovation and leadership within the global chef community and bring forward initiatives for healthy and sustainable diets and menus.

Read more

EAT Global innovation Award

The Challenges as well as the rewards in regards to the trinity of food, health and sustainability are truly global. The EAT Global Innovation Awards wants to highlight successful ideas and implementations on a global scale, be it businesses, organizations or institutions.

Read more